top of page
  • Writer's pictureLauren

2019 Fall Reading

Fall seems to be the best time of year to cozy up and read a good book and with the chilly weather that fall brings, I seem to spend a little more time inside and find myself reading more in this season than any other season. So, because of my love for fall reading and your guys' interest in book recommendations, I have put together this post to help you find your next good book!


What I'll be sharing:

1.) My Top Fall Book Recommendations

2.) What I'm Currently Reading

3.) What I am Planning to Read

4.) Best hacks for finding books, audiobooks, and more for free or really cheap!


Each book you see below is linked and by clicking the book cover of the book you are interest in you can read the descriptions of the book, see reviews, and shop it if you decide it's one for you!


My Top Fall Book Recommendations


1. Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens

My words are honestly not adequate enough to describe the wonder and beauty of Where the Crawdads Sings. It is one of the rare books that completely captivate your attention and leaves you in awe and desperately wanting the story to continue. The writing is lyrical, vivid and rich in spirit - This was one that made me both laugh and cry. If you read any fiction book this year, read this one!


2. Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling

I read these last year and fell in love with them. J.K. Rowling has intertwined every part of the books to reach a beautiful ending and show the internal and external battle between good and evil. She has created a dark and whimsical chrildren's series that can seriously be enjoyed at any age. All you need to know is that you should read them if you haven't already!


3. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

The writing and whit alone will keep you reading, but the mystery, detail, and unprecedented thriller will make you obsessed. This one is a great fall read if you are looking for something thrilling that keeps you on your toes and holds your attention.


4. The Woman in the Window by A.J. Finn

This book was unexpected and, although slightly slow, I loved the twists and turns that made this a favorite fall read. I enjoyed that there was a bit of unreliability with the main character that makes you question whether she is sane and truthful in telling about the crime she says she's seen or if she has a motive for making it up. This one was eerie and made for an amazing fall/halloween time read.


5. Tuck Everlasting by Natalie Babbitt

Personally, I think this is the best book to get you in the fall spirit. I love this one because it's nostalgic and a quick, fun read. It is a children's book that combines a whimsical tale with mystery and imagination that will make you adore it.


6. The Time Traveler's Wife by Audrey Niffenegger

This book creates a world of it's own in the realm of time travel. It is a coming of age, romance, & sci-fi all in one. The characters are very well developed and the story is dream-like with the aspects of love in the traveling dimensions of time and space. I will say there are some parts that seemed unnecessary, but overall this book was such an interesting, sweet read.


7. + 8. The Woman in Cabin 10 & In a Dark, Dark Wood (both by Ruth Ware)

I'm combining these two because they are similar and by the same author. These were great thrillers that were not too scary but enough thrill to keep you entertained and reading. Each story was different from thrillers I have read before, but both of these are mysteries where the main character is trying to determine who committed the crime. Also both stories take place in a stranded setting such as a boat or an isolated lodge, which adds to the fun.



What I'm Currently Reading:

I was recommended to read The Help and I have not yet seen the movie, so I am excited to dive into this one and get to know this story for the first time. What's It Like to Be Married to Me and other dangerous questions is a book I am reading with a couple close friends who are also married. This book has been so eye opening and growing already and we are only into the second week. This is a book (just like Disciplines of a Godly Woman by Barbara Hughes) that I know I will be so glad I read early on in my life.




What I am Planning to Read:

Above are the books that are on my want to read list. This list is full of great authors and topics with many that I know will grow me and broaden my understanding of things like: life as a Christian, history of war, community, and more. Also I love reading fiction and I once read that fiction reading is found to grow people in compassion for others because reading fiction allows the reader to develop the skill of putting themselves in other peoples' shoes. There are so many great reasons to read and I hope to finish this (slightly ambitious for me) list before 2020! Feel free to join me in trying out one of these!




Best hacks for reading or audio-booking for free or really cheap:


1. Get a library card!

You might know this already but many people don't take advantage of it so I felt the need to list it! You can get a library card for free in the town/city/county you live in and have access to thousands of books, audio books, movies, etc. Most libraries get new books and movies regularly as well.

2. With your library card you have multiple ways to access audiobooks!

You can rent out audiobooks the old fashioned way from the library OR you can use apps like Hoopla and Libby by overdrive to access free audiobooks from your phone with your library card!

3.) Goodwill and Half-Priced Books have books for ways less than buying new

Goodwill is for sure the cheapest and sometimes has books that are brand new! Half-Priced Books is obviously just half of what the book is at full price, but it can still be a great deal and a larger selection. Plus, most the books are in good condition since HPB buys the used books from people rather than taking them as donations.




If you have made it this far, thanks so much for reading and I hope you found this post helpful!


Tell me in the comments your thoughts on any of the books I shared or if you have a good hack for getting books or other resources for little to no cost!


Have a great week!

Lauren

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page